//->
you're reading...
Bible Studies, Top 10

10 Bible Verses About Anger

10…9…8… Breathe… 7..6..5… Exhale.. 4..3..2…1.. OK. Think… Look at his eyes. Is dad gonna start yelling? What’s going to happen next? Time stops in between seconds as we look at each other. There is silence as we both think of that next tick. I turn around and dig some napkins out of the glove box, smile at him and say “oops”. The sigh escaping his little lips is giggly with spent anxiety. Eruption avoided.

At four years old, nearly anything can be instantly propelled in any direction at any time. Four year old’s don’t necessarily run around throwing things (all the time), but the inevitable accident does occur from time to time. O.K, a lot. This particular instance, my family and I had just exited a spectacular local drive-thru Christmas light display. A family tradition of sorts, we have all spent Christmas Eve touring this particular display of holiday cheer since we were kids. Through the years it has built up to a stunning display of decked halls, adornments, and of course thousands and thousands of lights depicting favorite Christmas and holiday scenes.

My son was putting the finishing moves on a hard-earned sundae when we hit a bump. The sundae hit the floor of the van, upside down. A small “uh-oh” escaped my son’s lips. Then a pause, as he weighed the magnitude of his words against our expected reaction. “I spilled my sundae on the floor.”

The night could have played out very differently. There could have been screaming, cussing, yelling, spankings. But such actions were not called for. It was just an accident. He’s not an unruly kid. Even if he were, that is not the behavior or disciplinary technique I want instilled in my son to be passed down through the generations.

When used properly, anger fuels the emotional catalyst to achieve good things and obtain positive results. Uncontrolled anger erupts as a boiling volcano spewing destruction and regret. There are many techniques one can use to help overcome anger issues and emotional roadblocks. The first step, and easiest to do begins inside. Think to yourself two things fir, “is this something worth expending huge amounts of energy over?”, second, “who does this affect, besides myself?” Then, inhale.. exhale… breathe.

10 Bible Verses About Anger

Refrain from anger and turn from wrath; do not fret—it leads only to evil – Psalm 37:8

You should fear the sword yourselves;for wrath will bring punishment by the sword, and then you will know that there is judgment. – Job 19:29

A quick-tempered person does foolish things, and the one who devises evil schemes is hated. – Proverbs 14:17

A violent person entices their neighbor and leads them down a path that is not good – Proverbs 16:29

Better a patient person than a warrior, one with self-control than one who takes a city – Proverbs 16:32

Do not be quickly provoked in your spirit, for anger resides in the lap of fools. – Ecclesiastes 7:9

Thus saith the Lord; For three transgressions of Edom, and for four, I will not turn away the punishment thereof; because he did pursue his brother with the sword, and did cast off pity, and his anger did tear perpetually, and he kept his wrath forever. – Amos 1:11

But I tell you that anyone who is angry with a brother or sister will be subject to judgment. Again, anyone who says to a brother or sister, ‘Raca,’is answerable to the court. And anyone who says, ‘You fool!’ will be in danger of the fire of hell. – Matthew 5:22

“In your anger do not sin” Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, – Ephesians 4:26

My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, – James 1:19

About Aaron N.

Aaron is a freelance writer who is passionate about covering topics that interest Christian readers. From breaking news and inspirational stories to Bible studies, Aaron is committed to providing concise, well written, and relevant articles that will inspire and encourage Christians to search for a deeper connection in their faith and God.

Discussion

21 thoughts on “10 Bible Verses About Anger

  1. A very interesting read, thanks for that. If you ever write a follow-up, i’ll be sure to read it!

    Posted by Social Networking Guru | January 12, 2012, 10:36 am
  2. this style of writing is a true skill and art form! excellent function I commend anybody with a skill at writing which include yours.

    Posted by Ina Ankeny | January 15, 2012, 4:59 am
  3. After browsing for information similar to the topic. I discovered 10 Bible Verses About Anger The Salvation Times here. You have presented your tips rather well. The particulars is exactly what is was searching for. I can link back to https://thesalvationtimes.wordpress.com/2011/12/26/10-bible-verses-about-anger/ in context in my future report. Cheers.

    Posted by Hipolito M. Wiseman | January 16, 2012, 11:23 pm
    • I’m glad that you were able to find what you were looking for here. If you would like you can check out my other Top 10 Bible Verses Feel free to linkback at any time. We certainly appreciate it!

      Posted by Aaron N. | January 17, 2012, 9:31 pm
  4. Interesting… Thanks for this post!

    Posted by Occupy Melbourne | January 18, 2012, 10:06 am
  5. Very intreresting post. It was very useful. I was searching exaxtly for this. Thank you for your effort. I hope you will write more such interesting posts.

    Posted by kadry | January 23, 2012, 11:00 am
    • I’m glad that you were able to find what you were looking for. Thank you for your kind words. I have written similarly styled articles at examiner.com You can find the links on the blogroll of The Salvation Times home page, or click this link to go directly to my profile.

      Thanks for visiting and keep coming back!

      Posted by Aaron N. | January 25, 2012, 2:46 pm
  6. I found your weblog website on google and verify a few of your early posts. Proceed to keep up the excellent operate. I just further up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking ahead to reading extra from you later on!…

    Posted by Affordable SEO Services | January 23, 2012, 11:49 pm
  7. I love your blog! Thanks for this post!

    Posted by Lady GaGa Fan | January 24, 2012, 4:27 am
  8. i ought to say that i enjoy the way you write your blog articles. they keep me wanting to come back for more

    Posted by Affordable SEO Services | January 24, 2012, 6:53 am
  9. There are some interesting deadlines on this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take maintain opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as well

    Posted by Affordable SEO Services | January 24, 2012, 11:09 am
  10. I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually rarely do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you will have hit the nail on the head. Your thought is excellent; the problem is one thing that not sufficient people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for one thing referring to this.

    Posted by seo london | January 24, 2012, 11:40 am
  11. My father loves this sort of stuff. I’d really like a book that i could get him for christmas related to this subject.

    Posted by Tristan Conole | February 1, 2012, 7:09 pm
  12. Excellent article, thanks.

    Posted by Travis | February 29, 2012, 5:11 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: My Homepage - February 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

